Election Candidates

There are 66 LWN graduates or alumnae standing in this General Election; some are MPs who were elected in prior to 2010 or in 2015 or 2017; whilst many are women standing for the first time.

We are delighted that Labour has made history, by having a record breaking 53% of candidates who are women. We are extremely proud that 20% of these are graduates or alumnae of Labour Women’s Network.
In 2017, overall, 41% of the Labour Party's candidates were women, as against 34% in 2015.

We wish the very best of luck to all Labour candidates in this election, particularly women, and especially LWN members and the graduates and leadership trainees listed below:


Natalie Fleet

Ashton under Lyne:       

Angela Rayner

Batley & Spen:

Tracy Brabin

Birmingham Edgbaston:             

Preet Gill

Birmingham Yardley:                 

Jess Phillips

Bolton West:                             

Julie Hilling

Brentford & Isleworth:               

Ruth Cadbury

Bristol West:                             

Thangam Debonnaire

Cambridgeshire North West:       

Cathy Cordiner-Achenbach


Rosie Duffield


Ruth Alcroft

Chipping Barnet:                      

Emma Whysall


Rosalind James

Colne Valley:                           

Thelma Walker


Beth Miller

Croydon South:

Olga Fitzroy

Devizes :

Rachael Ross

Devon South West:

Alex Beverley

Devon West & Torridge:

Siobhan Strode

Dudley South:

Lucy Caldicott

Ealing Central & Acton:

Rupa Huq


Catherine Atkinson

Erith & Thamesmead:

Abena Oppong-Asare

Feltham & Heston:

Seema Malhotra

Grantham & Stamford:

Kathryn Salt

Hackney South & Shoreditch:

Meg Hillier

Hampstead & Kilburn:

Tulip Siddiq


Celia Hibbert


Laura McAlpine

Hemel Hempstead:

Nabila Ahmed

Heywood & Middleton:

Liz McInnes

Hitchin & Harpenden:

Kay Tart

Hull North:

Diana Johnson

Kingston & Surbiton:

Leanne Werner


Nicola Bowden-Jones

Lancaster & Fleetwood:

Cat Smith


Kate Chappell


Sonya Ward


Danielle Rowley

Milton Keynes North:

Charlynne Pullen


Kait Duerden

Motherwell & Wishaw:

Angela Feeney

Norfolk North West:

JoAnne Rust

Norwich North:

Karen Davis

Nottingham East:

Nadia Whittome

Oxford East:

Anneliese Dodds

Plymouth Moor View:

Charlotte Holloway

Portsmouth North:

Amanda Martin

Preseli Pembrokeshire:

Philippa Thompson

Reading West:

Rachel Eden


Anna Turley

Ribble South:

Kim Snape

Rochford & Southend East:

Ashley Dalton

Ruislip Northwood & Pinner:

Peymana Assad

Shrewsbury & Atcham:

Julia Buckley

South Shields:

Emma Lewell-Buck


Liz Savage

St Albans:

Rebecca Lury

Sunderland Central:

Julie Elliott

Surrey East:

Frances Rehal

Vale of Glamorgan:

Belinda Loveluck-Evans

Washington & Sunderland West:

Sharon Hodgson

Wirral South:

Alison McGovern


Rosa Bolger

Worcestershire West:

Samantha Charles

You can see our 2017 figures here